Subject Guides
Pharmacy
HS & ES Librarian
Welcome to the Pharmacy Library Guide! This home page has information about resources and databases, new books, and linking Google Scholar to Binghamton University resources. Use the tabs on the left (above if on mobile) to navigate the site for a variety of information including my contact information.
I also invite you to explore the healthcare page of our Anti-Racism Research and Resource Guide.
Pharmacy Databases
Below are selected databases that are useful for pharmacy related information. Find more here.
Finding articles / Doing literature research
- Embase Covers the most important international biomedical literature with all articles indexed in depth. It includes: over 32 million records, including MEDLINE titles; over 8,500 journals from over 95 countries, over 2,900 indexed journals unique to Embase; over 2.3 million conference abstracts indexed from more than 7,000 conferences dating from 2009; and full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data.
- MEDLINE with Full Text Full text of authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
- PubMed From the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- International Pharmaceutical AbstractsCoverage of pharmaceutical and medical journals published worldwide. Clinical abstracts include study design, number of patients, dosage, dosage forms and dosage schedule. Subjects covered include: Biopharmaceuticals and pharmacokinetics; legal, political and ethical issues; new drug delivery systems and pharmacist liability.
- Health and Medicine OneFIle Access to articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
- Web of Science Covers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
- CINAHL Ultimate Extensive coverage of nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health. Full text of the most influential journals in nursing. Covers publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing.Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software.
Point-of-Care and Evidence Base focused resources
- Dynamed Clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,400 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience. DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians, residents, nurse practitioners and other healthcare professionals for use at the point of care.
- Cochrane Library Contains evidence-based articles, reviews, protocols, clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
- Clinical eCompanion Find patient education handouts in multiple languages, clinical practice guidelines, drug interactions, ICD 10 codes, and other essential point-of-care information.
- TRIP database Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request items not available online.
- Sanford Guide Web Edition The Sanford Guide Web Edition integrates Antimicrobial Therapy, HIV/AIDS Therapy, and Viral Hepatitis Therapy into a single web site for maximum coverage and ease of use with greatly expanded digital-only content and interactive calculators, algorithms, and tables.
- Essential Evidence PlusA one-stop, state-of-the-art reference resource that includes best-evidence answers to clinical questions concerning symptoms, diseases, and treatment.
- Merck Manuals (professional version)"With clinical decision support and patient education content, timely updates, and new health literate and wellness landing pages, Merck Manuals has a wealth of content for you to explore."
Books and drug specific resources
- USP Compounding Compendium & USP NF / PFThe official compendia of standards for drugs marketed in the United State. To search the Compendium select the appropriate filter next to the "search" box at the top of the screen.
- Micromedex Micromedex is a suite of databases offering comprehensive drug, disease and toxicology oriented information for health care professionals and patients.
- Lexicomp Database containing comprehensive clinical drug information. It includes Lexi-Drugs and Lexi-Interact.
- Facts & Comparisons eAnswers Drug information for health care professionals. Provides information on drug efficacy, composition, and identification; drug comparison, indications for use and adverse reactions; and patient information handouts. Also covers herbal medications, supplements and other medical care products.
- Natural Medicines The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
This link opens in a new window
- AccessPharmacy Designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. Allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
- AccessMedicine Access to 65+ medical books, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools. All across one search platform.
- PharmacyLibrary PharmacyLibrary features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX® review, a collection of 250 Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources. **Access has been temporarily disrupted - vendor has been notified as of 7/7/2023**
- LactMedFrom the NLM, LactMed® contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.
- FDALabel: Full-Text Search of Drug Product LabelingWeb-based application to search labeling documents of FDA-approved drug products.
Chemistry resources
- CAS SciFinder-nCAS SciFinder-n provides reference, substance, reaction and supplier content and relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more.
- ChemSpider "ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 63 million structures from hundreds of data sources."
Google Scholar
Google Scholar promotes itself as a resource that provides one-stop shopping for scholarly literature. It searches across many disciplines and covers a wide variety of resources, including journal articles, theses, books, abstracts, and more. Although Google Scholar is aimed at the academic community, it uses a very broad definition of "scholarly literature." Remember that the content isn't free or necessarily available in full-text. It is important to realize that not everything, or even most, in Google Scholar is peer reviewed.
If you find an article you like that has a pay wall, don't pay - see if the library has it or request it through ILL. You can customize Google Scholar to display the Get It! link so you can get access to some articles through the library.
The Get It! link will automatically occur in Google Scholar searches done on campus. For off campus users:
1. Go to Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com.
2. Before doing a search go into Settings. This is usually under the three bars in the upper left, but may be at the top of the page or elsewhere. Look for the gear symbol.
3. Type "Binghamton University" in the the "Library Links" box and select "Binghamton Universit - Get It!."
4. Click Save.
5. The Get It! link will now appear each time you search Google Scholar. (If you are off campus, you will need to log in once you click the Get It! link to get access.)
