RefWorks: Getting Started

Guide to the new Refworks platform, a citation and document management tool.

Upcoming Workshops

Click on a workshop title for more information or to register.

Ask a Librarian

Research Assistance's picture
Research Assistance
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please send an email to refquest@binghamton.edu instead.
Contact:
text: 607-205-8173
call: 607-777-2345
email: refquest@binghamton.edu
Ask a Librarian

In-text Citations with Quick Cite

RefWorks has an "Quick cite" option that allows you to easily create in-text citations and bibliographies in your desired citation style without having to download any software or add-ons.

To get started, click the quotation (") icon from the top menu bar, and then select "Quick cite."



A smaller window will appear. Select your desired citation style from the drop-down menu and click continue. Check the box next to the source(s) you wish to cite and in-text citations will appear in your chosen citation style. Click the blue icon to the right of the citation to copy it to your clipboard.



Click "continue to bibliography" to create a bibliography of all sources in your collection.

Entering page numbers for In-Text Citations

When using the Quick Cite feature, if your in-text citation or footnote requires a specific page number or range, you will have to add it manually.

Bibliographies or Works Cited

Quick cite also allows you create works cited or bibliography, even if you are not working on a paper.

To create a bibliography, select the resources you would like to include by checking their respective boxes. Then, click the quotation (") icon on the home screen, followed by "Create bibliography."



On the next page, select your preferred citation style (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.), and RefWorks will automatically format your bibliography according to that particular style guide. Click "copy to clipboard," and then paste it into your word processor.