Women's Studies

Digital Collections

Agents of Social Change (Smith College)

Short biographies and primary documents relating to eight 20th century women's activists. - Constance Motly, Dorohy Kenyon, Mary Kaufman, Frances Fox Piven, Jessie Lloyd O'Connor, and Gloria Steinem. 

American Memory(Library of Congress) --Women
The Library's digital collection of historical documents includes sections on women's history.

Civil War Women: Primary Sources on the Internet
Primary sources on the internet including diaries, letters, documents, photographs and prints.

Discovering American Women's History Online
Access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement - Special Collections Library, Duke University
Online archival collection documents the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States during the late 1960's and early 1970s.

Elizabeth Cady Stanton & Susan B Anthony Papers Project
A project devoted to locating and publishing the papers of these two American reformers. 

Emma Goldman Papers - University of University of California Berkeley
Major figure in the history of American radicalism and feminism (1869-1940).

Margaret Sanger Papers Project
This historical editing project located, arranged, edited, researched and published the papers of the noted birth control pioneer.

National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921
Votes for Women--Part of the Library of Congress' American Memory digital collection of historical documents; includes books, pamphlets & artifacts documenting the U. S. suffrage movement.

National First Ladies Library
Virtual library devoted to the lives and legacies of America's First Ladies; contains over 40,000 books, articls, letters, manuscripts, and other literary works by and about 43 women.

National Women's Hall of Fame
Provides biographical information on prominent women; & information about events celebrating the 150th Anniversary of the Birth of Women's Rights to be held in Seneca Falls, New York, during the summer of 1998.

Schlesinger Library
Foremost library on the history of women in America; includes books, manuscripts, periodicals, photographs, oral histories and audiovisual materials primarily during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Sophia Smith Collection: Women's History Manuscripts at Smith College
Internationally recognized repository of manuscripts, photographs, periodicals, and other primary sources in women's history.

Swarthmore College Peace Collection
Research archives devoted to collecting, preserving and making accessible, materials on non-governmental efforts towards peace.

Women, Enterprise & Society: A Guide to Resources in the Business Manuscripts Collection at Baker Library
Materials from the Harvard Business School library that document women's participation in American business and culture from the eighteenth through twentieth century.

Websites

Feminist.com
Site with links to information about women's health issues, political activism, business development, and civic participation by women.

Feminist Theory
Provides research materials and information about feminist theory and women's movements.

HerStoria
A look at history from a female perspective

ViVa Women's History: other sites of interest
Comprehensive site created by the International Institute of Social History; includes archival & library collections, women's history sites & bibliographies.

WSSLinks Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
Created by librarians in the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries of the American Library Association.

WomenWatch
UN Internet Gateway on the Advancement and Empowerment of Women: provides information and news on national and international efforts for women's advancement and empowerment.

Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites
A selective, annotated, highly acclaimed listing of web sites containing resources and information about women's studies / women's issues, with an emphasis on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program.

Gender, Race, and Ethnicity in Media
The site is organized by the following categories: advertising, African American, Asian American, assorted gender and media links, cyberspace, feminist media, indexes and directories, Latin American, LesBiGay, Native American and other indigenous peoples, print media, television and film, and other media and mixed media.

Scholarly Blogs

Women and Social Movements:  The Online Discussion
A forum for discussions of teaching and research in U.S. women’s history. Directed by a group of historians from many campuses, the site is co-sponsored by Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1600-2000, Alexander Street Press and the Center for the Historical Study of Women and Gender of SUNY Binghamton.

Women’s Studies Liblog
This blog from the University of Connecticut covers news, events, books, conferences, and more.

A Blog of Our Own.
This blog is written and maintained by the students of the Women’s Studies Program at The University of Akron.

Associations

National Women Studies Association
Established in 1977, NWSA is a professional organization dedicated to leading the field of women's studies and gender studies, as well as its teaching, learning, research, and service wherever they be found.

National Conference for College Women Student Leaders
A conference focused on important and contemporary leadership issues. With sessions designed to address the needs of both current and aspiring leaders

American Association of University Women (AAUW)
AAUW advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education and research. Founded in 1881, AAUW is one of the best known organizations for women. There are links to numerous resources on their website.