Engineering Design

Citing Standards

APA (From APA Style Blog)

To cite a quality standard or guideline in APA Style, provide the author, date, title, and source of the work. After the title of the work, provide any number or identifier for the standard in parentheses without italics. Here is a template for citing a standard:

Reference list: Organization That Made the Standard. (year). Title of the standard (Standard No. 1234). Retrieved from http://xxxxx

In text: (Organization That Made the Standard, year).

Annotated Bibliographies

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, websites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "references" or "works cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

Annotated Bibliography Samples

[Source: Bisignani, D. and Brizee, A. (2011, July 6). Annotated Bibliographies. Retrieved from http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01/.]

Online APA Style Guide - Purdue University Owl

Citation Help

As a scholar, you cite sources:

  • To give credit to the authors and works your consulted
     
  • To enable the reader to locate those sources
     
  • To recognize that it is an issue of academic respect and courtesy; and because
     
  • Failure to do so can lead to punishment under Binghamton University's Code of Academic Honesty.

For EDD 104, you will use the APA citation style. For other courses, your professor may require a different citation format, such as MLA or Chicago Style.  If they do not require a specific format, select the format you are most comfortable with and use it consistently throughout your paper.

For more information, see the following sources:

Note:  There are many citation style cheat sheets and guides available online - use these with caution. Both APA and MLA have recently been updated, and many online cheat sheets do not reflect these chages. In addition, many citation guides are not complete and can contain errors. When in doubt, consult the official style manual. These manuals also contain information how to format a paper (headings, spacing, font, language, etc).

Subject Librarian

Aleshia Huber's picture
Aleshia Huber
chat loading...
Contact:
102F Science Library
hubera@binghamton.edu
(607) 777-4902