Subject Guides
Art & Architectural History
Guide to resources in art and architectural history.
Library of Congress Subject Call Number Guide
Visual Arts N
Architecture NA
Sculpture NB
Drawing, Design, Illustration NC
Painting ND
Print media NE
Decorative Arts NK
Arts in General NX
Photography TR
Costume, Dress, Fashion GT500
Dance GV1580
- Library of Congress Classification-Class NA detailed list of what you will find under all Fine Art Class "N" subjects. Example: "ND1380-1383 Animals. Birds"
Research Tips
To find a complete list of an artist's body of work, search in Find It! for (Catalogues Raisonnés) AND (the artist's name). For example: [Catalogues Raisonnés and Picasso]
Subject Librarian
New Books
Finding Books
- Find It!Searches the Libraries' catalog and article databases at the same time. To narrow down search results, use the Refine My Results links at the left side of the screen.
- artdiscovery.net – Virtual Catalogue for Art HistoryVirtual Catalogue for Art History, an international specialized meta catalogue of art books and related materials.
- EuropeanaThis online portal offers access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
- Finding and Using E-booksHow to use and download ebooks from the Libraries.
Looking for Rare Books and Manuscripts Resources?
The English Short Title Catalogue
The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly, but not exclusively, in English, published mainly in the British Isles and North America, from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries
The Incunabula Short Title Catalogue
The Incunabula Short-Title Catalogue (ISTC) developed at the British Library is the most comprehensive international bibliographical database of fifteenth-century printing. In January 2008 it contained detailed records of 29,777 editions printed from moveable type before 1501.
Consortium of European Research Libraries (CERL)
CERL’s primary objective is to record all books printed in Europe during the hand-press period, i.e. before c.1830, in a machine-readable catalogue, called the Hand Press Book Database. Two other significant initiatives are the development of the CERL Thesaurus and the CERL Portal. The CERL Thesaurus was developed to address the problem that place name and personal names in Europe varied from country to country in the period of hand press printing. The CERL Thesaurus contains forms of imprint places, imprint names, personal names and corporate names as found in material printed before the middle of the nineteenth century—including variant spellings, forms in Latin and other languages, and fictitious names.
The European Library
“A portal which offers access to the combined resources (books, magazines, journals.…—both digital and non-digital) of the 45 national libraries of Europe. It offers free searching and delivers digital objects—some free, some priced.”
Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog KVK
A metasearch engine for querying the holdings of the major national libraries of the world, academic libraries in Germany, Switzerland, and Austria, and various new book sites in single, comprehensive queries.
RBM: A Journal of Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Cultural Heritage (formerly Rare Books and Manuscripts Librarianship, RBML) is the Association of College and Research Libraries' journal covering issues pertaining to the world inhabited by special collections libraries and cultural heritage institutions.
