Subject Guides
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
PRINT Reference Tools
Print reference materials for music are found in both the the Fine Arts collection area and in the Bartle general reference area, so be sure to check the call number listing to direct you to the right place!
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Call Number: Bartle Library Reference ML100 .N48 2000 v.1-29ISBN: 1561592390Publication Date: 2003-02-11- Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik byCall Number: Fine Arts Collection Reference ML100 .M92 Bd.1-17ISBN: 3761811012
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by Call Number: Bartle Library Reference ML102.J3 N48 2002 v.1-3ISBN: 033369189XPublication Date: 2001-01-02
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by Call Number: Bartle Library Reference ML102.I5 N48 1984 v.1-3Also available online
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera by Call Number: Bartle Library Reference ML102.O6 N5 1992 v.1-4ISBN: 0935859926Publication Date: 2002-01-01
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Call Number: Bartle Library Reference ML100 .G16 1997 v.1-10ISBN: 0824060350Publication Date: 1997-08-01v. 1. Africa -- v. 2. South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean -- v. 3. The United States and Canada -- v. 4. Southeast Asia -- v. 5. South Asia: The Indian subcontinent -- v. 6. The Middle East -- v. 7. East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea -- v. 8. Europe -- v. 9. Australia and the Pacific islands -- v. 10. The world’s music: general perspectives and reference tools.
Encyclopedia of Musical Theater by Call Number: Bartle Library Reference ML102.M88 G3 2001 v.1-3ISBN: 0028649702Publication Date: 2001-05-17- Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM)Call Number: Fine Arts Collection Reference ML113.I6Publication Date: 1983Series A, a listing of sources by individual composer, to be divided into two series: A/I for music imprints (Einzeldrucke vor 1800) and A/II for music manuscripts after 1600
Series B, catalogs of systematically arranged repertories of music and writings about music 
Thematic Catalogues in Music by Call Number: Fine Arts Collection Reference ML113 .B86 1997ISBN: 091872886XPublication Date: 1997-02-28- Collected Editions, Historical Series and Sets, and Monuments of Music byCall Number: Bartle Library Reference ML113 .H55 1997ISBN: 0914913220Publication Date: 1997
- Latin Motet byCall Number: Bartle Library Reference ML128.S2 L56ISBN: 0931902800Publication Date: 1993-01-01
ONLINE Reference Tools
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowAccess and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location, searching more than 8000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. Includes Grove Music Online.
- The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd Edition25 years ago, the four volumes of the first edition of this dictionary initiated a great expansion in American music scholarship. The articles of the dictionary range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers, and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the US and the American history of the orchestra.
- ThemefinderAllows searching of databases containing musical themes or incipits
- Themefinder: RISM A/II55,491 incipits from music manuscripts after 1600 contained in libraries of the United States of America.
- Themefinder for The Latin Motet: Indexes to Printed Collections, 1500-1600Collected by Harry B. Lincoln. Latin motets from the 16th century including 19,000 incipits from 4,000 compositions.
