Legislation

About Hearings & Prints

Hearings: For bills of sufficient importance or public interest, committees hold hearings to gather information and testimony from parties interested in the proposed legislation. Oversight hearings are also held which do not necessarily relate to legislation.

Prints: Research reports prepared for use by congressional committees, usually consisting of compilations of statutes, background information, or working drafts of a bill.

How to Locate Hearings & Prints

Proquest Congressional includes published hearings and prints from 1824 to 2003, and unpublished hearings and prints from 1824 to 1990 (varies by chamber).

See the chart of content available to the Binghamton Libraries.

The Libraries have access to the following collections within Proquest Congressional: Basic subscription, Congressional Hearings Digital Collections (Parts A & B), Unpublished Hearings Digital Collections (Parts A & B), Congressional Research Digital Collection, U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, Serial Set 1, Serial Set 2, Serial Set Maps Digital Collection, Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection (Part A)

For more recent hearings not found in Proquest Congressional, use FDsys, specific committee websites or the links below.

  • Capitol Hearings (C-Span)
    Provides real-time audio and video streaming of hearings. Page provides calendars of House and Senate hearings.
  • Google Books
    Many of the libraries Google is working with have large hearing collections. Depth and quality varies.

Subject Librarian

Dave Vose's picture
Dave Vose
Contact:
Bartle Library: 777-4907

Downtown Center: 777-9275