New Books
Fire : the spark that ignited human evolution. By Frances D. Burton.
GN 416. B86 2009
Bartle Library Stacks
New cures, old medicines : women and the commercialization of traditional medicine in Bolivia. By Lynn Sikkink.
GN 450.2 .S 54 2010
Bartle Library Stacks
LC 3731 . A746 2009
Bartle Library Stacks
Primary Databases
All databases are
unless noted otherwise.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full-text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. and indexing and abstracting for more than 11,000 journals journals in nearly every academic field of study. Also includes images and a visual search interface.
- Annual Reviews Access to full text for those reviews to which we have a subscription. Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences review articles (dating back to when the annual review began) summarize the current state of research on a subject by organizing, synthesizing, and critically evaluating the relevant literature. Most articles provide an exhaustive bibliography.
- Anthropological Literature Anthropological Literature indexes articles and essays two or more pages long on anthropology, archaeology, art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. It covers works published in English and other European languages from the 19th century to the present.
- Brill’s New Pauly Encyclopedia of the Ancient World The unrivaled modern reference work for the ancient world, covering more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
- BU Library Catalog The Binghamton University Libraries online catalogue provides bibliographic information on the 2.2 million item owned by the Libraries such as books, journal titles, government documents, dvds, and videos as well as internet resources and web sites selected by librarians. The catalogue includes the call number and location of the materials and will tell you whether or not the item is checked out.
- eHRAF World Cultures eHRAF is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
- JSTOR JSTOR is a journal archive and does not cover current journal issues. The Libraries subscribe to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-IV, Ecology and Botany and Health and General Science
- metaLINK metaLINK allows scholars to search for articles, journals, e-books and electronic databases. It is the Libraries' portal to these sources.
- Web of Knowledge (ISI Web of Science) Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.
- More Anthropology database sites Here are more anthropology related electronic databases to search for books, journal articles, book reviews and other research materials.
See also
Here is a brief listing of related area subject guides. A more comprehensive list of all library subject area guides is available.
Asian and Asian-American Studies
Classical and Near Eastern Studies
Latin American and Caribbean Area Studies
Citation Help
All sources should be cited in a bibliography or reference list and in the body of the text of a research paper. Citations give credit to the the author as well as enable other researchers (or your instructor) to locate the cited item.
For definitive guidance on how to CITE your sources, you should consult the print manuals or an organization's on-line guide such as the American Anthropological Association (AAA) Style Guide
To assist in creating your bibliography or works cited pages, saving your references and managing your sources, you can use RefWorks
.
Subject Librarian |
Beth Turcy KilmarxSpecial Collections Department
PO Box 6012
Binghamton University
Binghamton NY 13902-6012
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, Sociology, Rare Books
DVD and films
The BU Libraries have over 4000 DVD discs and VHS cassettes available for library patrons. Please check infoLINK for a complete listing of all available DVD and VHS materials.
Coming of age (1990). Chronicles the life and career of Margaret Mead, one of the most controversial anthropologists and fieldworkers of her day. Includes original footage from American Samoa, New Guinea and Bali.
In the land of the war canoes (2000). A drama of Kwakiutl Indian life on the Northwest Coast / story written and picture made in 1914 by Edward S. Curtis.
Unearthing evil (2005). This program looks at forensic archaeologist Richard Wright, whose work has greatly helped the international community in the pursuit of justice.
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait