Web Portals for U.S. History
Voice of the Shuttle U.S.History page (Univ of Calif Santa Barbara). A comprehensive index to academic, scholarly websites in History. The full Voice of the Shuttle websites has separate pages for all humanities disciplines.
WWW-Virtual Library History page is another collection of links relating to History. Subcategories include History by Continent/County, Era/Epoch, Topic, and Methods.
Trial Databases in U.S. History
The following databases are currently on trial via the Binghamton University Libraries.
Please access these trials via the Libraries' Trial Database Page. http://library.binghamton.edu/research/testdb.html
The Papers of Dwight D. Eisenhower. The complete electronic edition of The Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower combines the full text of all 21 volumes—over 14,000 pages. Trial ends May 15, 2013.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1–5 Trial ends June 2, 2013
Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York Trial ends June 2, 2013
Revolutionary War Era Orderly Books from the New-York Historical Society Trial ends June 2, 2013
Vogue Trial ends April 21, 2013
Bibliographic Databases
- America: History & LifeAmerica: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. Includes links to full-text.
- Periodicals Index OnlinePIO is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 3935 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Currently indexes around 13 million articles since the seventeenth century and every article in each journal is indexed.
- Readers Guide RetrospectiveContains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Coverage: 1890-1982. - American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other
historically-significant periodicals. - European Views of the AmericasIn cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, EBSCO Publishing created a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.
Full-Text Book Databases
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineA database consisting of over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) based on the English Short Title Catalogue. It includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.
- The Making of America (Cornell University holdings)A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Coverage: 19th century.
- The Making of America (University of Michigan holdings)A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Coverage: 19th century.
Director of Collections |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
