Last Updated: Aug 22, 2013
- Acme Mapper
You can get color, black and white, and topographic images of a particular address or city, depending on availability. You can change the scale, zoom-in, zoom-out and change the size of the map.
- Google Earth
You will need to download software to your computer. You can view photo-realistic buildings from cities around the world and use swoop navigation from outer space to street level.
- Map Library
Outline maps are available of the united states, states with capitols, physiography, regions, and continents.
- Broome County Planning
Broome County Planning publications.These include annual reports, construction data, census figures and town plans.
- New York State Museum
New York State GIS datasets available as statewide datasets and regional datasets.
- NYS Gazetteer and GeoData Collection
The University at Buffalo Libraries provide a database which facilitates searching and locating 38,000 places, features, and other geographic information within New York State. You can find latitude and longitude coordinates, as well as downloadable and digital raster graphics and digital maps files.
- US Census 2000 Map Server
Binghamton University, with the use of ESRI’s ArcIMS software, has developed an internet map service allowing users to select Census variables and map them for any part of the country.
- USDA Forest Service Geodata Clearinghouse
You can view and download geodata of the National Forest Lands. Geodata included are vector, raster, and Forest Service maps (topographic, visitor, and special projects). Also available are data sets from Forest Service research & development scientists, state GIS, and Automated Lands Project (ALP) data. Other resources available are the Ecological Subregions and the Foreign Agriculture Service Image Archive.
"Your one stop for finding and using geographic data." You can find data or map services, make a map, browse community information, cooperate on data acquisitions, and publish your data and map services.
- Geonet Names Server
Provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names. The database is the official repository of foreign place-name decisions approved by the US BGN.
- Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Onlines
TGN includes names and associated information about places. Places include administrative political entities (e.g., cities, nations) and physical features (e.g., mountains, rivers). Current and historical places are included.
The Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) is the U.S. federal standard for geographic nomenclature.
- Internet Mapping Sites
and Yahoo! Maps
Internet mapping internet sites allow you to view a map of a city or town, zoom in and zoom out, add starting and ending points to create driving directions, and find businesses in a location.
Similar to Mapquest or Google Maps, this covers Europe, Brazil and the Middle East. The default language is English but you can also change the language to German, French, Italian, Spanish, and others.
- Atlas of Canada
Online maps of Canada are available on such topics as the environment, people & society, economy, history, climate change, freshwater, health, reference, archives, and topography.
- NOAA Charting and Geodesy
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's web page where you can find nautical charts, tidal current tables, and historic photo galleries, as well as products for coastal aerial photography, coastal survey maps, environmental sensitivity index maps, geodetic control points, etc.
- USGS: Start with Science
- USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center
Before-and-after Landsat images (1972-present), showing recent environmental events and introducing remote sensing.
- National Geologic Map Database
A catalog of geologic and other geoscience maps. If a desired item is found please check the Library Catalog to see if we have it. If not, you will need to place a request for the item through Interlibrary Loan.
- Online Soil Survey Manuscripts
The U.S. Dept. of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation Service has made available online access to soil survey manuscripts and maps for all of the states. Not all counties are included.
- David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
- Images of Early Maps on the Web
Part of the Map History / History of Cartography web site, they link to hundreds of digitized maps from pre-1900, and from all over the world.
- Mapping History
This project maintained by the University of Oregon has been designed to provide interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and illustrations of historical events, developments, and dynamics.
- United Nations Cartographic Section
More than 100 maps are available in pdf format depicting areas from around the world. You can find general maps, peace keeping maps and thematic maps.
- World Mapper
A collection of world maps where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.
- FAA Aeronautical Navigation Products
FAA links to vendors websites where you can purchase aeronautical charting maps.
International Travel Maps and Books (ITMB) prepares detailed travel maps of countries and regions around the world specializing in Africa, Asia, Canada, the Caribbean, Europe, the Middle East, and Latin America.
- NOAA National Physical Data Center
From the National Geophysical Data Center you can purchase many different kinds of data gathered from environmental satellites, this includes Earth observations from space, space weather & solar events, bathymetry & global events, marine geology & geophysics, natural hazzards, and geomagnetic data & models.
- Omni Map
An online map retailer who specializes in international maps. They sell paper and digital maps, hiking guides and more.
- USGS Maps, Imagery & Publications
USGS links to online catalogs, product locators and specific collections. Also available is the USGS Store were you can order any of thousands of maps, mostly of the United States but also some from other countries.
- MAGIRT Links
A guide created by the Map and Geospatial Information Round Table (MAGIRT), part of the Association of College & Research Libraries, of select links. Resources covered include digital map imaging for preservation, cartographic resources, professional organizations, and educational resources.
- AtoZ Maps Online
(BU Only) Provides downloadable maps in pdf and some as GeoTIF and jpeg formats. Types of maps include modern outline, political, thematic, topographic, scientific and animated maps, as well as thousands of antique maps of the world, individual countries, U.S. states, U.S. towns and cities and the entire USGS Topographic Map Collection.
Contains citations for publications of Canada’s Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources. It includes the Geological Survey of Canada, Canada Centre for Remote Sensing, and Canada’s topographic maps. Also provided are links to those publications available online for free.